The teams of IPL

IPL is the biggest Twenty20 platform in the world. The world class players are playing in this tournament. Each and every cricket player's dream is to play in this tournament, just because they want to prove themselves in this big platform and it has the biggest audience all over the world. This tournament has made the career of the underdog cricketers who did not have any recognition and nobody was knowing their talent. The underdogs are keen to play in this tornament because international players are there in this and same experience as playing international matches. 

There are total of eight teams in the INDIAN PREMIER LEAGUE :-










 Chennai super kings is a frenchise cricket team based on Chennai Tamil Nadu, which plays in INDIAN PREMIER LEAGUE. It was founded in 2008 when the IPL was started and it's home ground is M.A. Chidambaram stadium where CSK plays their home matches. The team was suspended for 2 years and did not play 2016 and 2017 season of IPL because the owner of the team found guilty in betting case in 2013 IPL season. The team came back in 2018 and became the champion of 2018 IPL, It was the great comback in the history of IPL. The team is captained by Mahendra Shingh Dhoni and coached by Stephen Fleming.

 The Chennai Super Kings have lifted the Trophy thrice in 2010, 2011, 2018, and have the highest winning percentage of 61.28% among all the teams of the IPL. This team holds the record of most appearances in playoffs 10 times and the final 8 times. CSK have qualified for playoffs in each season of IPL on their appearance in the league. They have also won the Champions league Twenty20 in 2010 and 2014. It was estimated that the brand value of Chennai Super Kings is around ₹ 732 crore(around $104 million) and this makes them the second most valuable team after Mumbai Indians in the IPL.


Mumbai Indians is the team based on Mumbai, Maharashtra which plays in IPL and is the most successful team among all the teams in the INDIAN PREMIER TEAM. It was founded in 2008 by india's biggest brand Reliance Industries. This team plays its home matches in Wankhede Stadium Mumbai. Mumbai Indians have won most number of the IPL title. The first ever IPL title they won was the 2013 IPL season. They have won the total of 4 IPL titles in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019. They have also won the 2011 Champions league twenty20 after beating the Royal Chalengers Banglore by 31 runs. The team is captained by the opener batsman of Indian Cricket Team Rohit Sharma and he is the leading Run scorer of the team, and this team is coached by Mahela Jayawardene. This team is very much consistent and known as the best team in the IPL. In 2017, Mumbai Indians became the first team to cross the 100 million dollar mark in brand value among all the IPL teams. It was estimated that the brand value of Mumbai Indians in 2019 was around ₹809 crore (approx $115 million) and it has the highest brand value among all the IPL frenchise.


Royal Challenger Banglore is the Indian Premier League team which is based on benglore, karnataka.

This team was founded in 2008 during the start of Indian Premier League by UNITED SPIRITS and they named the team after their liquor brand Royal Challenge. This team plays their home matches in M. Chinnaswamy stadium. The Royal Challengers Bangalore have neither won Champions league nor Indian Premier League Title but they were the runners up 3 times. This team holds the record of highest and the lowest total scores in the IPL (263/5 and 49). In 2007 BCCI anounced the establishment of the Indian Premier League a T20 Format league to be started in 2008. The names of the teams were representing 8 different cities of India and benglore was one of them. The benglore frenchise was purchased by Vijay Mallya for 111.6 million US$. It was the second highest bid for a team after Mumbai , it was purchased by Reliance Industries for 111.9 million US$. In 2019, it was estimated that the brand value of Royal Challengers Bangalore is ₹595 crores (83 million US$). 


Rajasthan Royals is one of the 8 IPL frenchise which was founded in 2008 initially in the Indian Premier League. It is based on jaipur, Rajasthan. RR plays their home matches in Sawai Mansingh Stadium in jaipur. This team was known as the high potential talents. Rajasthan Royals were the winner of the very first edition of the Indian Premier League in 2008 under the Captaincy of Shane Warne. They were also the runners up of Champions League Twenty20 2013 under Rahul Dravid Captaincy. On 14 july 2015, Rajasthan Royals were suspended from IPL over 2013 betting scandal for two years along with Chennai Super Kings. Both the teams could not participate in the 2016 and 2017 IPL seasons. RR returned to the Compitition in 2018 season. The leading run scorer and highest wicket taker for the team is Ajinkya rahane and Shane Watson respectively. The team is captained by Steve Smith and coached by Andrew Mcdonald. The estimated brand value of Rajasthan Royals is around ₹271 crores.


Kings XI Punjab is a team based on Mohali, Punjab and the Bollywood actress Preity Zinta is one of the owner of the frenchise. The team plays their home matches in PCA Stadium, Mohali since the 2010 IPL season. Before they used to play their home matches in either Dharamshala or Indore. The team has appeared only 2 times in playoffs. They were runners up in 2014's IPL season. The team is captained by KL Rahul and coached by Anil Kumbke. The brand value of the frenchise is around ₹264 crores(approx 36.2 million US$). 


Kolkata Knight Riders is a team representing Kolkata and owned by the King of bollywood Shah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla and Jay Mehta. The home ground of Knight Rider is Eden Gardens Stadium. The team got the huge popularity because of their association with celebrities. In 2011, they qulified for playoffs for the first time. In 2012, they won their first IPL title. KKR have won total of two IPL titles in 2012 and 2014. Kolkata Knight Riders holds the record of longest winninf streak in T20 league. The leading run scorer and highest wicket taker for the team is Gautam Gambhir and Sunil Narine respectively. The team is captained by Dinesh Karthik and coached by Brendon McCullum. In 2018 it was estimated that the brand value of Knight Riders was $104 million but in 2019 it is around ₹629 crores (US$ 88 million).


Sunriser Hydrabad is based on Hydrabad, Telangana. This team was not their from the beginning of IPL. The team was founded in 2012 after IPL terminated the Hydrabad based team Deccan Chargers. The owner of the team is Kalanithi Maran of the Sun TV Network. This team plays thier home matches in the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hudrabad. Sunrisers Hudrabad first appeared in 2013 and qualified for the playoffs but unfortunately they finishes the season on the 4th position. The Sunrishers won their first ever IPL title in 2016 after beating the Royal Chalengers Banglore by 8 runs in the finals. This team is known as the beast bowling side and admired for its defending ability of low totals. Devid Warner is the highest run getter for the team and Bhuvneshwar kumar is the highest wicket taker for the side. The team is captained by Devid Warner and coached by Trevor Bayliss. The estimated brand value if the Sunriser Hydrabad was ₹483 Crore (approx 68 US$).


Delhi Capitals is the IPL team based on Delhi, india. The team was founded in 2008 as Delhi Daredevils later the name was changed to Delhi Capitals. Capitals plays their home matches in Arun Jaitley Stadium, New Delhi. Delgi Capitals is the only team which never appeared in finals and in 2019 they qualified for playoffs for the first time. The highest run scorer for the team is Virendra Sehwag and the leading wicket taker is Amit Mishra. The team is currently captained by Shreyas Iyer and coached by Ricky Ponting. The brand value Delhi Capitals is around ₹388 crore (approx 53 million US$).